Special City Council Meeting Wednesday 29 March 2023

COMHAIRLE CATHRACH BHAILE ÁTHA CLIATH



Miontuairiscí Chruinniú Speisialta a tionóladh ar 29 Márta 2023 i Seomra na Comhairle, Halla na Cathrach, Sráid An Dáma ag 6.15 i.n. I Láthair an tArdmheara Caroline Conroy sa chathaoir.

<u>Comhairleoir:</u> Daryl Barron	Comhairleoir: Racheal Batten
Tom Brabazon	
	Christy Burke
Claire Byrne	Danny Byrne
Hazel Chu	Anthony Connaghan
Caroline Conroy	Donna Cooney
Deirdre Cronin	Daniel Céitinn
Tara Deacy	Máire Devine
Daithí Doolan	Pat Dunne
Declan Flanagan	Terence Flanagan
Mary Freehill	James Geoghegan
Deirdre Heney	Jane Horgan-Jones
Vincent Jackson	Dermot Lacey
John Lyons	Micheál MacDonncha
Paddy McCartan	Séamas McGrattan
Carolyn Moore	Sophie Nicoullaud
Claire O'Connor	Cat O'Driscoll
Colm O'Rourke	Larry O'Toole
Michael Pidgeon	Noeleen Reilly
Patricia Roe	Karl Stanley
	. tarr otarnoy

Janice Boylan Dearbháil Butler Mary Callaghan Keith Connolly Joe Costello Daithí de Róiste Kevin Donoghue Anne Feeney Mannix Flynn Alison Gilliland Janet Horner Darcy Lonergan Briege MacOscar Declan Meenagh Naoise Ó Muirí Damian O'Farrell Cieran Perry Nial Ring Michael Watters

Comhairleoir:

Oifigigh

Michael Gallagher Yvonne Kelly Prajwal Krishnashetty-

Annibabu

Mary Hayes Natalie Leonard Kirsten Hart

Owen P. Keegan Coilin O'Reilly Ruth Dowling

Under Schedule 10 of the Local Government act 2001 Section 6-I(C) Councillors Janice Boylan, Mícheál MacDonncha, Máire Devine, Anthony Connaghan, Larry O'Toole, Séamas McGrattan, Daniel Céitinn and Daithí Doolan requested a Special Meeting of Dublin City Council to discuss the following Issue: "This Council calls on the Government to extend the ban on evictions until the end of the year; to expand the tenant in situ scheme for social and affordable cost rental tenants; and to use emergency planning and procurement powers to target vacant and derelict properties and new building technologies to deliver additional social and affordable homes above the targets for this year."

The motion calling for the meeting was read into the record by the Meetings Administrator together with the following addendum proposed by Councillor Dermot Lacey on behalf of Labour Group:

"This Council recognising the scale of the Housing Crisis requests that:

- 1. The Government should urgently engage with the EU commission to unblock the rules for short term holiday lets to bring thousands of houses and apartments into the rental market.
- Each Councillor would be requested to identify publicly owned sites in their areas on which a minimum of eight Social/Affordable or Cost Rental homes could be built through Dublin City Council, local co-operatives and/or Approved Housing Bodies.
- 3. Dublin City Council accelerates and increases plans to recruit apprentices in all the relevant building trades.
- 4. Dublin City Council enters into immediate discussions with the Department of Housing and Local Government to speed up the maintenance and renovation requirements to allocate housing to incoming tenants.
- 5. Calls on the Department of Housing and Local Government to streamline and speed up the process from planning to construction for Local Authorities build".

The Sinn Féin Group agreed to include the addendum to the motion.

Following a debate on the issue, the motion was put to a vote and carried.

	Details of this vote are contained in Appendix A	٨.	
2	Appendix A		3
LORD N	IAYOR	MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR	

RECORD of DIVISION AT THE SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING 29th MARCH 2023

COUNCILLORS	FOR	AGAINST	ABSTAIN	ABSENT	COUNCILLORS	FOR	AGAINST	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Councillor Daryl Barron	√				Councillor Alison Gilliland	√			
Councillor Racheal Batten	√				Councillor Deirdre Heney		√		
Councillor Janice Boylan	√				Councillor Jane Horgan Jones	V			
Councillor Tom Brabazon	√				Councillor Janet Horner	√			
Councillor Christy Burke	√				Councillor Vincent Jackson	√			
Councillor Dearbháil Butler		√			Councillor Dermot Lacey	V			
Councillor Claire Byrne		√			Councillor Darcy Lonergan		V		
Councillor Danny Byrne					Councillor John Lyons	√			
Councillor Mary Callaghan	√				Councillor Micheál MacDonncha	V			
Councillor Daniel Céitinn	√				Councillor Briege MacOscar				
Councillor Hazel Chu	√				Councillor Ray McAdam				√
Councillor Anthony Connaghan	√				Councillor Paddy McCartan		V		
Councillor Keith Connolly					Councillor Eimer McCormack				√
Lord Mayor Caroline Conroy			1		Councillor Séamas McGrattan	√			
Councillor Deirdre Conroy				√	Councillor Declan Meenagh				
Councillor Donna Cooney	V				Councillor Carolyn Moore			1	
Councillor Joe Costello	√				Councillor Darragh Moriarty				V
Councillor Deirdre Cronin	√				Councillor Sophie Nicoullaud	√			
Councillor Hazel de Nortúin				√	Councillor Naoise Ó Muirí				
Councillor Daithí de Róiste	√				Councillor Claire O'Connor	√			
Councillor Tara Deacy	√				Councillor Cat O'Driscoll	√			
Councillor Máire Devine	√				Councillor Damian O'Farrell	√			
Councillor Kevin Donoghue	√				Councillor Colm O'Rourke				
Councillor Daithí Doolan	√				Councillor Larry O'Toole	√			
Councillor Pat Dunne	√				Councillor Cieran Perry	V			
Councillor Anne Feeney			√		Councillor Michael Pidgeon		$\sqrt{}$		
Councillor Declan Flanagan					Councillor Noeleen Reilly	√			
Councillor Terence Flanagan			1		Councillor Nial Ring				
Councillor Mannix Flynn	1				Councillor Patricia Roe	√			
Councillor Mary Freehill	√				Councillor Karl Stanley	√			
Councillor James Geoghegan		V			Councillor Michael Watters		V		
							1		

FOR: 37 ABSTAIN: 4

AGAINST: 8 ABSENT: 5